Eminem Recovery

Eminem Recovery Album Cover

Recovery is the seventh studio album by Eminem, released June 18, 2010, on Polydor Records and Interscope Records. Production for the album took place during 2009 to 2010 and was handled by several record producers, including Alex da Kid, Just Blaze, Boi-1da, Jim Jonsin, DJ Khalil, and Dr. Dre.

On April 13, 2010, Eminem tweeted “There is no Relapse 2” to his followers. When he tweeted this, people started to believe that he was not releasing an album at all, but it meant simply that the album would be changed to Recovery. He confirmed this by tweeting “Recovery” with a link to his website. Eminem said “I had originally planned for Relapse 2 to come out last year. But as I kept recording and working with new producers, the idea of a sequel to Relapse started to make less and less sense to me, and I wanted to make a completely new album. The music on Recovery came out very different from Relapse, and I think it deserves its own title.” On April 27, Eminem released a freestyle titled “Despicable” over “Over” by Drake and “Beamer, Benz, or Bentley” by Lloyd Banks featuring Juelz Santana as promo for the first single, “Not Afraid”, which debuted on Shade 45 on April 29. In a recent interview Eminem said “I must have gone through 200-300 beats, for the album and chose 100 of them and recorded it.”

The album debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 chart, selling 741,000 copies in its first week. It became Eminem’s sixth consecutive number-one album in the United States and has produced two singles that achieved chart success, including international hits “Not Afraid” and “Love the Way You Lie”. Upon its release, Recovery received generally positive reviews from most music critics and especially fans.

Label: Interscope/Shady/Aftermath
Release date: June 18, 2010 (EU, AU) – June 21, 2010 (US, UK)
Discs: 1 disc

Track List – Eminem Recovery

1.“Cold Wind Blows”Just Blaze5:04
2.“Talkin’ 2 Myself” (featuring Kobe)DJ Khalil5:00
3.“On Fire”Denaun Porter3:34
4.“Won’t Back Down” (featuring Pink)DJ Khalil4:26
5.“W.T.P.”Supa Dups, JG (co.), Eminem (add.)3:58
6.“Going Through Changes”Emile4:59
7.“Not Afraid”Boi-1da, Jordan Evans (add.), Matthew Burnett (add.), Eminem (add.)4:08
8.“Seduction”Boi-1da, Matthew Burnett (add.)4:35
9.“No Love”Just Blaze5:00
10.“Space Bound”Jim Jonsin4:39
11.“Cinderella Man”Script Shepherd4:39
12.“25 to Life”DJ Khalil4:02
13.“So Bad”Dr. Dre, Nick Brongers5:25
14.“Almost Famous”DJ Khalil4:53
15.“Love the Way You Lie”Alex da Kid4:23
16.“You’re Never Over”Just Blaze5:06
17.“Untitled” (hidden track)Havoc, Magnedo7 (co.)3:14

iTunes Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks (MP3):

18.“Ridaz”Dr. Dre5:00
19.“Session One” (featuring Slaughterhouse)Just Blaze4:28

Eminem – Lyrics

Album Cover – Eminem Recovery

The album features two covers: One with Eminem walking down a country road and another with him sitting in a transparent living room in the middle of Detroit with the Renaissance Center in the background. The albums liner features pictures of Eminem such as a picture of him “praying” and him posing without a shirt on. The album is dedicated “2 anyone who’s In a dark place tryin’ to 2 get out. Keep your head up… It does get better!”

Critics about Recovery

To come.